Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents User Review



Plan Details

User Reviews

Sign Up!

All Companies    All Plans    

Pioneer Telephone
4.1
4.5
4.3
4.5
4.4

Good service, good price.

Overall Rating:
4.5 out of 5
By: Don Ster on Monday, March 01, 2010
From: Bastrop, TX (United States)
Experience: 4 Years
Pros: Good price, no monthly fees. You only pay for what you use.

Cons: None so far.

Summary: I make very few long distance phone calls and they don't eat my money on months when I don't use the service. The prices when I do make a call are fair. I have no complaints about then at all. So far I haven't had any reason to deal with customer service. I guess that's a good thing in it's self. Haven't made any international calls, cut I wouldn't expect any problems there either.

long distance

Overall Rating:
4.7 out of 5
By: G R on Friday, August 28, 2009
From: Friendship, mid-atlantic (United States)
Experience: 60 Days
Pros: Low rate per minute.
No STUPID FEE for just having the phone service

Cons: none that I'm aware of

Summary: Changed from I** because they charged me $5.95 just for the pleasure of having their service. A fee for nothing! No BS with Phone Dog!

I am new to Pioneer telephone

Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
By: Wayne Bagwell on Thursday, July 02, 2009
From: Birmingham, AL (United States)
Experience: 69 Days
Pros: very good price and good service

Cons: took too long to get switched over (some of which probably was ATT fault

Summary: I would recommend to all !!

Pioneer telephone

Overall Rating:
4.2 out of 5
By: Brian Kowald on Thursday, April 02, 2009
From: Hendersonville, NC (United States)
Experience: 5 Months
Pros: Great price, no calling problems

Cons: Small 11% USF fee

Summary: I switched to Pioneer because my previous long distance company changed me $5 per month fees.

Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents

Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
By: Herb Farnsworth on Tuesday, September 02, 2008
From: Burlington, MA (United States)
Experience: 90 Days
Pros: Cheap, easy, no hassles

Cons: Non yet

Summary: Everthings good, no complaints

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful

Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents

Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
By: Phyllis Melendez on Tuesday, August 26, 2008
From: Anaheim, CA (United States)
Experience: 60 Days
Pros: Excellent service and very inexpensive!!

Cons: None so far

Summary: I was with 10-10-321 before I went with Pioneer but my long distance was still too high. Since Pioneer my bills went down from about $20 to $1.50 per month. Such great savings with no loss in quality service!!

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful

Annoying delay before connecting with Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents

Overall Rating:
2.8 out of 5
By: R B on Thursday, May 29, 2008
From: Golden, CO (United States)
Experience: 90 Days
Pros: very cheap

Cons: A five to ten second delay before calls connect may rule this out for you

Summary: We're pleased with the cheap rate - who wouldn't be - but it seems to come at a cost in call quality, namely a consistent (and consistently annoying) delay between the time we finish dialing a number and when the phone actually starts ringing at the other end. The longest we've timed is just over fifteen seconds, and it's always over five seconds. This has led to many redialed calls (before we figured out what was happening) and even a week or so at the beginning when we didn't think the service worked. If you make a lot of calls this might just put you over the edge. We didn't have this problem with our old carrier.

12 out of 28 people found this review helpful

Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents Review

Overall Rating:
3.5 out of 5
By: Roger Hiner on Wednesday, February 06, 2008
From: Christiansburg, VA (United States)
Experience: 3 Months
Pros: No monthly fees
Pay as you use the service

Summary: I am very satisfied with the Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents plan. Although I have only had this plan a few months, it is exactly what I was looking for because the long distance per minute rate is low and there is no minimum monthly fee. It is a great plan for people who do not make a lot of long distance calls every month.

18 out of 39 people found this review helpful

Talk is Cheap

Overall Rating:
4.3 out of 5
By: Mary Johnson on Tuesday, February 05, 2008
From: Barboursville, VA (United States)
Experience: 75 Days
Pros: very low in-state rate, good customer service, convenient credit card billing

Cons: Pioneer website could be more user-friendly

Summary: Last November I signed up for the Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents service plan which is billed to my credit card. The cost has been less than I expected, and I like the convenience of having it billed on my credit card. After spending a year using calling cards and having to dial a 1-800 number and then a PIN number, and then the number I was calling, it felt truly liberating to only have to dial a 1 and then the number. My only complaint is that the Pioneer website is not easy to use and I called the customer service number to confirm when the service started. Otherwise I've had no problems and lots of cheap talk.


25 out of 47 people found this review helpful

Excellent

Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
By: Kevin Lathwell on Tuesday, January 22, 2008
From: Hedgesville, WV (United States)
Experience: 2 Months
Pros: no minimum usage requirements
easy signup
easy bill and pay by check

Cons: None that I can see at this point

Summary: This has been everything that I expected and more. I was paying over $60/month to Verizon for very little long distance usage. Now my Verizon bill is under $40. We have two cell phones, so we just don't use much. Your service allows me to use what I need and really helps my budget. Thanks for your service!!!!

17 out of 35 people found this review helpful

Long Distance - Did you know?

The USF fee is a mandatory fee implemented by the FCC. Companies can however charge a higher % than required. A higher USF fee can have a significant effect on your final bill. We include the USF Fee into our "Yearly Savings" formula which has a significant role in which plan has the highest Yearly Savings value.

This fee goes to High Cost/Low Income Fund, Schools, Libraries, Rural Health Care, and Telecommunications Relay Services or TRS Fund.

Compare Plans by State

Top Long Distance plans

Opex Value 2.5 logo
Opex Value 2.5 Read reviews
2.5 ¢/min State-to-State
5.4 ¢/min In-State
Pioneer 2.7 Rate Buster logo
Pioneer 2.7 Rate Buster Read reviews
2.7 ¢/min State-to-State
5.9 ¢/min In-State
TCI Saver 3.0 logo
TCI Saver 3.0 Read reviews
3 ¢/min State-to-State
6.8 ¢/min In-State
Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents logo
Pioneer 3.25 TalkCents Read reviews
3.25 ¢/min State-to-State
6.9 ¢/min In-State
ECG Easy 2.5 logo
ECG Easy 2.5 Read reviews
2.5 ¢/min State-to-State
9.8 ¢/min In-State
telna 4.8 - Unique logo
telna 4.8 - Unique Read reviews
4.8 ¢/min State-to-State
6.9 ¢/min In-State